Shell Users

What are Shell Users?

Shell users are used for SSH and SFTP access to your files.

They also run the processes your various web applications, which helps to isolate your applications from each other. Shell users are a great way to organize your applications by project!

Adding a Shell User

  1. Click on Applications in the dashboard sidebar.

  2. Click the button labeled "Create Shell User" in the upper-right corner of the content area.

  3. Use the Server dropdown list to select the server for your new shell user.

  4. Enter the desired username for your new shell user in the Name field.

  5. Click the green "Create shell user" button to save your new shell user.

  6. The new shell user will appear highlighted yellow in the dashboard while it is being created. The highlight will fade out when shell user is ready.

  7. The new shell user's initial password is available in the Notice Log.

Note that shell users must be unique on each server - that is, two shell users with the same name cannot exist on the same server.

If, after saving your shell user, you see the error message "This username is already in use on the server", then go back to step 3 and use a different name.

Changing a Shell User's Password

  1. Click on Applications in the dashboard sidebar.

  2. Click the checkbox next the user (or users) for which you want to change the password. Two buttons will appear above the user list.

  3. Click the "Change Shell Users Passwords" button.

  4. Enter your new password in the field labeled "Password".

    Passwords must meet the following requirements:

    • Must contain at least 1 of each of the following:
    • 1 lowercase letter A-Z
    • 1 uppercase letter a-z
    • 1 numeral 0-9
    • 1 special character
    • Must be a minimum of 8 and a maximum of 254 characters in length.
  5. Enter your new password again in the field labeled "Verify Password".

    When you've entered identical valid passwords in both fields, the red field borders will turn black and a purple "Change Password" button will appear.

  6. Click the "Change Password" button to save your new password. The password will be applied to all of the shell users that were selected in step 2 above. Please allow up to 3 minutes for this change to take effect.

You can also change a shell user's password by executing the passwd command while logged in to a SSH session as that user.

Deleting Shell Users

  1. Click on Applications in the dashboard sidebar.

  2. Click the checkbox next to the user (or users) that you want to delete.

  3. Once the shell user is selected, a red delete button will appear. Click the red button.

  4. A confirmation prompt will appear. Click the red button to confirm the operation, or click the cancel button to cancel it.

  5. After you delete the shell user it wil turn red while the operation is pending, and will disappear a few seconds later when the operation is complete.